Citizen of the world

I grew up in city of immigrants. Those who traveled long distance and settled down. But in long winter nights they would seat near the window looking into dancing snowstorms and remember the spirit of adventure that once called them to the land far far away.

I grew up in city where foreigners were never a curiosity. They would come each summer on their huge military boats dressed in snow White and coal black uniforms. They spoke their funny languages and asked if they could take picture with me.

I graduated thinking that everyone speaks at least two languages. Believing that it is no big deal.

I grew up dreaming of traveling and knowing that my life will not be spent in Russia only.

I met people from all over the world and learned about their cultures not from books but in person.

And now I strongly believe that life is not meant to be spent in one place in fact we should take every opportunity to learn about this world, not from books but from personal experiences.

I dream of the day when borders will disappear and no one would care about passports, maybe even question “Where are you from?” will be replaced by “Tell me your story”.

Cause once you lived in more then one country you simply stop being just from one place, you become citizen of the world.

Leave a comment